Card

Magus of the Moon

Creature — Human Wizard


Nonbasic lands are Mountains.

Tidal forces of the blood moon wrench and buckle the land, drawing monoliths of stone and soil toward the flaming orb.


  Time Spiral Remastered (TSR)
#175, Rare

Illustrated by: Milivoj Ćeran
Multiverse ID: 509540

Not Legal Alchemy BO1
Not Legal Standard BO1
Not Legal Brawl
Not Legal Explorer BO1
Not Legal Historic BO1
Not Legal Pauper
Not Legal Pioneer
Not Legal Traditional Standard
Not Legal Timeless BO1
Not Legal Traditional Alchemy
Not Legal Traditional Explorer
Not Legal Traditional Historic
Not Legal Traditional Timeless

Rulings

  • 2017-09-29
    If a nonbasic land has an ability that causes it to enter the battlefield tapped, it will lose that ability before it applies. The same is also true of any other abilities that modify how a land enters the battlefield or apply “as” a land enters the battlefield, such as the first ability of Cavern of Souls. This is a change from previous rulings.
  • 2018-03-16
    If a nonbasic land has an ability that triggers “when” it enters the battlefield, it will lose that ability before it triggers.
  • 2018-03-16
    This effect doesn’t affect names or supertypes. It won’t turn any land into a basic land or remove the legendary supertype from a legendary land, and the lands won’t be named “Mountain.”
  • 2018-03-16
    Nonbasic lands will lose any other land types and abilities they had. They will gain the land type Mountain and gain the ability “: Add .”
  • 2021-03-19
    If Magus of the Moon loses its abilities, it continues to turn nonbasic lands into Mountains. This is because effects that change subtypes are applied before considering effects that remove abilities, regardless of the order in which those effects started.
  • 2021-03-19
    Magus of the Moon doesn’t affect names or supertypes. It won’t turn any land into a basic land or remove the legendary supertype from a legendary land, and the lands won’t be named “Mountain.”
  • 2021-03-19
    Nonbasic lands lose any other land types and abilities they had. They gain the land type Mountain and gain the ability “: Add .”
  • 2021-03-19
    If a nonbasic land has an ability that causes it to enter the battlefield tapped, it will lose that ability before it can apply. The same is also true of any other abilities that modify how a land enters the battlefield or apply “as” a land enters the battlefield, such as that of Vesuva or Cavern of Souls.
  • 2021-03-19
    If a nonbasic land has an ability that triggers “when” it enters the battlefield, it will lose that ability before it can trigger.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$10.99 €12.88
$11.72 €11.97 5.57
$16.02 €13.34 2.79
$11.90
USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil
EUR Foil