How Does Commander Tax Work With Adventure? Beluna Grandsquall & More

Genoslugcs September 6, 2023 2 min
How Does Commander Tax Work With Adventure? Beluna Grandsquall & More

Wilds of Eldraine takes us outside of the kingdoms and keeps of Eldraine and out into the dangerous wilds of the plane. As a fairy-tale-based set, it's the perfect place for a return of the "adventure" mechanic. Having the versatility of two spells on a single card is excellent, but it can also complicate things, especially in commander. Today, we'll review the new rules for casting adventure spells from the command zone with Beluna Grandsquallimage or Kellan, the Fae-Bloodedimage.

If you've been curious about how commander tax works with adventure, you're in the right place. I'll cover everything you need to know, including if you must pay commander tax on the adventure portion of the spell, if both bits have separate taxes, how changing zones work, and more. So, without further ado, let's jump in.


How Does Commander Tax Interact With Adventure?

In EDH, you can cast your commander from the command zone anytime you can legally cast that spell. In other words, it functions as in your hand while in the command zone. However, you must pay an additional two mana for each time it was previously cast from the command zone. Wilds of Eldraine brings us two new legendary creatures with "adventure." And the commander rules committee recently addressed how they work.

image image

If you're playing Beluna or Kellan as your commander, you can cast either the creature or the adventure spell from your command zone. However, they're taxed as one card. So, let's say you cast Kellan for the first time, and then someone removes him, and he's returned to the command zone. The next time you cast him or go to cast Birthright Boonimage for the first time, you'll have to pay an additional two.

You May Also Like: The Most Expensive Cards From Wilds Of Eldraine

In other words, the creature and adventure portions do not have separate taxes - It's an additional two mana for each time either part has been cast from the command zone, regardless of which side. But one more crucial point: It only applies to times it's been cast "from the command zone."

After you've resolved the adventure part of the card, your command goes to exile, unless you circumvent it and put them back into the command zone instead. Assuming you let it go to exile, you won't have to pay any commander tax when you cast it from exile.

So, for example, if you cast Seek Thrillsimage from the command zone, and exile Beluna, you'd only have to pay three mana to cast her. But if someone sends her back to the command zone and you wanted to recast here from there, you'd pay five, with the extra two coming from when you cast Seek Thrills.

In summary, here is an official post on the matter:

adventure commander tax rules

Adventure And Color Identity

Commanders with adventure have the color identities of all colors on the card, regardless of where they appear. So, for example, Kellan, the Fae-Bloodedimage has a color identity of red and white (Boros), and you can include both red and white cards in your deck. This may have been intuitive for you veteran players out there, but many newer players who may have needed to hear this are coming to the game.


There you have it, my friends, everything you need to know about how adventure works with commander tax in MTG. I hope you found the answers you were looking for. If not, comment with any questions, and I'll do my best to clarify them. Until next time, do you plan on building either of these commanders when they release?


Login to comment


Search Articles

Enter The Battlefield Prepared

With the MTGA Assistant deck tracker MTGA Assistant