Card

Trinisphere

Artifact


As long as Trinisphere is untapped, each spell that would cost less than three mana to cast costs three mana to cast. (Additional mana in the cost may be paid with any color of mana or colorless mana. For example, a spell that would cost to cast costs to cast instead.)

Designed to restrain petty thoughts, but used to repress entire empires.


  From the Vault: Exiled (V09)
#15, Mythic Rare

Illustrated by: Tim Hildebrandt
Multiverse ID: 194979

Not Legal Alchemy BO1
Not Legal Standard BO1
Not Legal Brawl
Not Legal Explorer BO1
Not Legal Historic BO1
Not Legal Historic Brawl
Not Legal Pauper
Not Legal Pioneer
Not Legal Traditional Standard
Not Legal Timeless BO1
Not Legal Traditional Alchemy
Not Legal Traditional Explorer
Not Legal Traditional Historic
Not Legal Traditional Timeless

Rulings

  • 2004-12-01
    Trinisphere's ability affects the total cost of the spell. It is applied *after* any other cost increasers or cost reducers are applied: First apply any cost increases. Next apply any cost reducers. Finally look at the amount of mana you have to pay. If it's less than three mana, you'll pay three mana.
  • 2004-12-01
    Even with a cost reducer on the battlefield, spells can't cost less than three mana to cast.
  • 2004-12-01
    If a spell costs at least three mana due to additional costs, such as kicker costs, that's fine.
  • 2004-12-01
    You still need to pay any additional nonmana costs the spell has, such as sacrificing a creature or discarding cards.
  • 2004-12-01
    Casting a creature with morph face down already costs three mana, even though the converted mana cost of the face-down spell is zero, so Trinisphere normally doesn't modify the total cost of a face-down creature spell. However, if Dream Chisel is reducing that cost while Trinisphere is on the battlefield, you'll still have to pay three mana for the spell.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$138.57 0.74
$23.85 €12.39
$15.80 €7.10 0.38
$15.69 €9.71 0.71
USD Foil
EUR Foil