Card

Prototype Portal

Artifact


Imprint — When Prototype Portal enters the battlefield, you may exile an artifact card from your hand.
, : Create a token that's a copy of the exiled card. X is the converted mana cost of that card.


  Scars of Mirrodin (SOM)
#195, Rare

Illustrated by: Drew Baker
Multiverse ID: 209009

Not Legal Alchemy BO1
Not Legal Standard BO1
Not Legal Brawl
Not Legal Explorer BO1
Not Legal Historic BO1
Not Legal Pauper
Not Legal Pioneer
Not Legal Traditional Standard
Not Legal Timeless BO1
Not Legal Traditional Alchemy
Not Legal Traditional Explorer
Not Legal Traditional Historic
Not Legal Traditional Timeless

Rulings

  • 2011-01-01
    You don't choose the value of . Rather, the value of X is defined by the activated ability.
  • 2011-01-01
    If Prototype Portal has left the battlefield by the time its second ability resolves, you'll still put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of the exiled card. On the other hand, if Prototype Portal is still on the battlefield at this time but there is no exiled card (because, perhaps, Riftsweeper's ability caused the exiled card to be put into its owner's library), no token is created.
  • 2011-01-01
    If the exiled card has in its mana cost (such as Chalice of the Void), that X is considered to be 0. The in Prototype Portal's activation cost takes this into account, though it may be greater than 0 if the exiled card has other mana symbols in its mana cost (such as Riptide Replicator).
  • 2011-01-01
    You may not activate the second ability if no card has been exiled with Prototype Portal. In that case, the value of is undefined and can't be paid.
  • 2011-01-01
    Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the exiled card will trigger when the token is put onto the battlefield. Any "as [this permanent] enters the battlefield" or "[this permanent] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the exiled card will also work.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$0.76 €0.27
$0.90 €0.31 0.02
$1.15
USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil
EUR Foil