Card

To the Slaughter

Instant


Target player sacrifices a creature or planeswalker.
Delirium — If there are four or more card types among cards in your graveyard, instead that player sacrifices a creature and a planeswalker.

"Where has little Gossamer gone?" —Thaniel, Gatstaf shepherd


  Shadows over Innistrad (SOI)
#139, Rare

Illustrated by: Christine Choi
Multiverse ID: 409889

Not Legal Alchemy BO1
Not Legal Standard BO1
Not Legal Brawl
Not Legal Explorer BO1
Not Legal Historic BO1
Not Legal Historic Brawl
Not Legal Pauper
Not Legal Traditional Standard
Not Legal Timeless BO1
Not Legal Traditional Alchemy
Not Legal Traditional Explorer
Not Legal Traditional Historic
Not Legal Traditional Timeless

Rulings

  • 2016-04-08
    Some delirium abilities that appear on instants and sorceries use the word "instead." These spells have an upgraded effect when they resolve if there are four or more card types among cards in your graveyard. They check that number only while they're resolving and don't count themselves, since they aren't in your graveyard yet. You only get the upgraded effect, not both effects.
  • 2016-04-08
    In some rare cases, you can have a token or a copy of a spell in your graveyard at the moment that an object's delirium ability counts the card types among cards in your graveyard, before that token or copy ceases to exist. Because tokens and copies of spells are not cards, even if they are copies of cards, their types will never be counted.
  • 2016-04-08
    Because you consider only the characteristics of a double-faced card's front face while it's not on the battlefield, the types of its back face won't be counted for delirium.
  • 2016-04-08
    The number of card types matters, not the number of cards. For example, Wicker Witch (an artifact creature) along with Catalog (an instant) and Chaplain's Blessing (a sorcery) will enable delirium.
  • 2016-04-08
    The card types in Magic are artifact, creature, enchantment, instant, land, planeswalker, sorcery, and tribal (a card type that appears on some older cards). Supertypes (such as legendary and basic) and subtypes (such as Human and Equipment) are not counted.
  • 2016-04-08
    If the delirium ability applies, that player must sacrifice a creature object and a planeswalker object if able. In the unusual case that the player controls a single permanent that's both a creature and a planeswalker, that player must sacrifice another creature or planeswalker (unless he or she controls no other creatures and no other planeswalkers).
USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil