Card
Chain Lightning

Sorcery


Chain Lightning deals 3 damage to target creature or player. Then that player or that creature's controller may pay . If the player does, he or she may copy this spell and may choose a new target for that copy.


  Vintage Masters (VMA)
#153, Common

Illustrated by: Christopher Moeller
Multiverse ID: 382880

Rulings

  • 2016-06-08
    If the targeted creature or player is an illegal target when Chain Lightning tries to resolve, the spell is countered. It can't be copied.
  • 2016-06-08
    The copy of Chain Lightning is created on the stack, so it's not cast. Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won't trigger. Players may respond to that spell before it resolves.
  • 2016-06-08
    The player putting the copy of the spell on the stack controls that copy.
  • 2016-06-08
    As Chain Lightning resolves, the targeted player or the controller of the targeted creature may copy it. The copy has the same text, target, and color of the resolving spell, though the player who's copying it may choose a new target for it. Once that copy is created (or not), the first Chain Lightning has finished resolving and leaves the stack.
  • 2004-10-04
    The spell copy has all the text and can result in itself being copied.
  • 2004-10-04
    The player putting the copy spell on the stack controls that spell.
  • 2004-10-04
    The copy is a spell, so it can be targeted by other spells and abilities that target a spell.