Card
Wild Evocation

Enchantment


At the beginning of each player's upkeep, that player reveals a card at random from his or her hand. If it's a land card, the player puts it onto the battlefield. Otherwise, the player casts it without paying its mana cost if able.


  Magic 2011 (M11)
#160, Rare

Illustrated by: Chippy
Multiverse ID: 204972

USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil
EUR Foil

Rulings

  • 2010-08-15
    If a player casts a nonland card revealed with Wild Evocation's ability, it's put on the stack as a spell, then Wild Evocation's ability finishes resolving. The spell will then resolve as normal, after players get a chance to cast spells and activate abilities.
  • 2010-08-15
    If casting the revealed card involves paying a mandatory additional cost (such as the one Fling has), the player casting that card must pay that cost if able. If he or she can't, the card remains uncast in his or her hand. If the mandatory additional cost includes a mana payment, the situation is more complex. If the player has enough mana in his or her mana pool to pay the cost, that player must do so. If the player can't possibly pay the cost, the card remains uncast in his or her hand. However, if the player has the means to produce enough mana to pay the cost, then he or she has a choice: The player may cast the card, produce mana, and pay the cost. Or the player may choose to activate no mana abilities, thus making the card impossible to cast because the additional mana can't be paid.
  • 2010-08-15
    If, as the result of Wild Evocation's ability, a player casts a card "without paying its mana cost," any X in the mana cost will be 0, and that player can't pay any alternative costs (such as Demon of Death's Gate's alternative cost). On the other hand, if the card has optional additional costs (such as kicker or multikicker), the player may pay those.
  • 2010-08-15
    If a player reveals a nonland card, but can't cast it due to a lack of legal targets or a play restriction, it simply remains in his or her hand.
  • 2010-08-15
    If a player reveals a nonland card, that player must cast that card if it's possible to do so, even if he or she doesn't want to. The player casts it as part of the resolution of Wild Evocation's ability. Timing restrictions based on the card's type (such as creature or sorcery) are ignored. Other play restrictions are not (such as "Cast [this card] only during combat").
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$0.49 €0.31 0.02