Card
Whiplash Trap

Instant — Trap


If an opponent had two or more creatures enter the battlefield under his or her control this turn, you may pay rather than pay Whiplash Trap's mana cost.
Return two target creatures to their owners' hands.


  Zendikar (ZEN)
#77, Common

Illustrated by: Zoltan Boros & Gabor Szikszai
Multiverse ID: 197526

USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil
EUR Foil

Rulings

  • 2009-10-01
    You can target any two creatures, not just ones that entered the battlefield this turn.
  • 2009-10-01
    You must target two creatures as you cast Whiplash Trap. If you can't (because just one creature is on the battlefield, perhaps), you can't cast the spell.
  • 2009-10-01
    Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay.
  • 2009-10-01
    Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn't change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay.
  • 2009-10-01
    You may ignore a Trap's alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$0.25 €0.17
$0.17 €0.12
$0.20 0.31
$0.18 €0.17 0.03
$0.20