Card
Needlebite Trap

Instant — Trap


If an opponent gained life this turn, you may pay rather than pay Needlebite Trap's mana cost.
Target player loses 5 life and you gain 5 life.

The traps around the vampire city of Malakir hint at the thirst of its inhabitants.


  Zendikar (ZEN)
#105, Uncommon

Illustrated by: Daarken
Multiverse ID: 197529

USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil
EUR Foil

Rulings

  • 2009-10-01
    Needlebite Trap's alternative cost condition checks only whether life was gained. It doesn't care whether life was also lost. For example, if an opponent gained 4 life and lost 6 life during the turn, that player will have a lower life total than he or she started the turn with — but you can still cast Needlebite Trap by paying .
  • 2009-10-01
    You may ignore a Trap's alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met.
  • 2009-10-01
    Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn't change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay.
  • 2009-10-01
    Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$0.25 €0.18 0.05