Card

Lavaball Trap

Instant — Trap


If an opponent had two or more lands enter the battlefield under his or her control this turn, you may pay rather than pay Lavaball Trap's mana cost.
Destroy two target lands. Lavaball Trap deals 4 damage to each creature.


  Zendikar (ZEN)
#135, Rare

Illustrated by: Zoltan Boros & Gabor Szikszai
Multiverse ID: 197528

Not Legal Alchemy BO1
Not Legal Standard BO1
Not Legal Brawl
Not Legal Explorer BO1
Not Legal Historic BO1
Not Legal Historic Brawl
Not Legal Pauper
Not Legal Pioneer
Not Legal Traditional Standard
Not Legal Timeless BO1
Not Legal Traditional Alchemy
Not Legal Traditional Explorer
Not Legal Traditional Historic
Not Legal Traditional Timeless

Rulings

  • 2009-10-01
    You may ignore a Trap's alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met.
  • 2009-10-01
    Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn't change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay.
  • 2009-10-01
    Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay.
  • 2009-10-01
    You may target any two lands, not just ones that entered the battlefield this turn.
  • 2009-10-01
    All creatures are dealt damage, not just ones controlled by the targeted lands' controller(s).
  • 2009-10-01
    If both targeted lands are illegal targets by the time Lavaball Trap resolves, the entire spell is countered. No creatures are dealt damage.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$0.35 €0.12 0.02
USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil
EUR Foil