Card
Archive Trap

Instant — Trap


If an opponent searched his or her library this turn, you may pay rather than pay Archive Trap's mana cost.
Target opponent puts the top thirteen cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard.


  Zendikar (ZEN)
#41, Rare

Illustrated by: Jason Felix
Multiverse ID: 197538

USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil

Rulings

  • 2009-10-01
    If the targeted opponent has fewer than thirteen cards in his or her library, that player puts his or her entire library into his or her graveyard.
  • 2009-10-01
    The opponent you target doesn't have to be the opponent who searched his or her library.
  • 2009-10-01
    If a search effect is affected by Aven Mindcensor's ability (which causes a player to search the top four cards of his or her library instead), that still counts as searching that library.
  • 2009-10-01
    A spell or ability causes a player to search his or her library only if it specifically contains the word "search" in its text. For example, if a spell or ability lets a player look at the top four cards of his or her library and do something with one of those cards, that's not a search.
  • 2009-10-01
    Archive Trap checks only whether an opponent searched his or her library. It doesn't matter whether that player found a card during the search.
  • 2009-10-01
    Effects that increase or reduce the cost to cast a Trap will apply to whichever cost you chose to pay.
  • 2009-10-01
    Casting a Trap by paying its alternative cost doesn't change its mana cost or converted mana cost. The only difference is the cost you actually pay.
  • 2009-10-01
    You may ignore a Trap's alternative cost condition and simply cast it for its normal mana cost. This is true even if its alternative cost condition has been met.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$9.13 €6.95 0.86