Card

Scourge of the Throne

Creature — Dragon


Flying
Dethrone (Whenever this creature attacks the player with the most life or tied for most life, put a +1/+1 counter on it.)
Whenever Scourge of the Throne attacks for the first time each turn, if it's attacking the player with the most life or tied for most life, untap all attacking creatures. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase.


  Vintage Masters (VMA)
#184, Mythic Rare

Illustrated by: Michael Komarck
Multiverse ID: 383081

Rulings

  • 2014-05-29
    Scourge of the Throne's ability has an intervening "if" clause. It must be attacking the player with the most life or tied with the most life both when it's declared as an attacker and as it starts to resolve for it to have any effect. If, at either time, the player isn't the one with the most life or tied for the most life, the ability will have no effect. Notably, this is different than how dethrone works. (Dethrone checks only once to see if the ability triggers.)
  • 2014-05-29
    Dethrone doesn't trigger if the creature attacks a planeswalker, even if its controller has the most life.
  • 2014-05-29
    The +1/+1 counter is put on the creature before blockers are declared.
  • 2014-05-29
    In a Two-Headed Giant game, dethrone will trigger if the creature attacks the team with the most life or tied for the most life.
  • 2014-05-29
    Once dethrone triggers, it doesn't matter what happens to the players' life totals before the ability resolves. You'll put a +1/+1 counter on the creature even if the defending player doesn't have the most life as the ability resolves.