Card

Marchesa, the Black Rose

Legendary Creature — Human Wizard


Dethrone (Whenever this creature attacks the player with the most life or tied for most life, put a +1/+1 counter on it.)
Other creatures you control have dethrone.
Whenever a creature you control with a +1/+1 counter on it dies, return that card to the battlefield under your control at the beginning of the next end step.


  Vintage Masters (VMA)
#256, Mythic Rare

Illustrated by: Matt Stewart
Multiverse ID: 383010

Marchesa, the Black Rose Commander decks

Rulings

  • 2014-05-29
    In a Two-Headed Giant game, dethrone will trigger if the creature attacks the team with the most life or tied for the most life.
  • 2014-05-29
    The +1/+1 counter is put on the creature before blockers are declared.
  • 2014-05-29
    Once dethrone triggers, it doesn't matter what happens to the players' life totals before the ability resolves. You'll put a +1/+1 counter on the creature even if the defending player doesn't have the most life as the ability resolves.
  • 2014-05-29
    Dethrone doesn't trigger if the creature attacks a planeswalker, even if its controller has the most life.
  • 2014-05-29
    If Marchesa has a +1/+1 counter on it when it dies, it will return to the battlefield under your control because of its own ability.
  • 2014-05-29
    If the creature card leaves the graveyard before the delayed triggered ability resolves, that card won't return to the battlefield, even if it's back in the graveyard when the delayed triggered ability resolves.
  • 2014-05-29
    If a creature has multiple instances of dethrone, each triggers separately.