Card
Martial Law

Enchantment


At the beginning of your upkeep, detain target creature an opponent controls. (Until your next turn, that creature can't attack or block and its activated abilities can't be activated.)

"The good of society matters much more than the inconvenience of a few." —Agmand Sarv, Azorius hussar


  Return to Ravnica (RTR)
#14, Rare

Illustrated by: Tyler Jacobson
Multiverse ID: 253598

USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil
EUR Foil

Rulings

  • 2013-04-15
    Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form "[cost]: [effect]." No one can activate any activated abilities, including mana abilities, of a detained permanent.
  • 2013-04-15
    When a player leaves a multiplayer game, any continuous effects with durations that last until that player's next turn or until a specific point in that turn will last until that turn would have begun. They neither expire immediately nor last indefinitely.
  • 2013-04-15
    If a noncreature permanent is detained and later turns into a creature, it won't be able to attack or block.
  • 2013-04-15
    If a permanent's activated ability is on the stack when that permanent is detained, the ability will be unaffected.
  • 2013-04-15
    If a creature is already attacking or blocking when it's detained, it won't be removed from combat. It will continue to attack or block.
  • 2013-04-15
    The static abilities of a detained permanent still apply. The triggered abilities of a detained permanent can still trigger.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$0.35 €0.17 0.02