Card
Secrets of the Golden City

Sorcery


Ascend (If you control ten or more permanents, you get the city's blessing for the rest of the game.)
Draw two cards. If you have the city's blessing, draw three cards instead.

Stolen knowledge can never be stolen back.


  Rivals of Ixalan (RIX)
#52, Common

Illustrated by: Jason Felix
Multiverse ID: 439709

USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil
EUR Foil

Rulings

  • 2018-01-19
    Once you have the city's blessing, you have it for the rest of the game, even if you lose control of some or all of your permanents. The city's blessing isn't a permanent itself and can't be removed by any effect.
  • 2018-01-19
    A permanent is any object on the battlefield, including tokens and lands. Spells and emblems aren't permanents.
  • 2018-01-19
    If you cast a spell with ascend, you don't get the city's blessing until it resolves. Players may respond to that spell by trying to change whether you get the city's blessing.
  • 2018-01-19
    If you control ten permanents but don't control a permanent or resolving spell with ascend, you don't get the city's blessing. For example, if you control ten permanents, lose control of one, then cast Golden Demise, you won't have the city's blessing and the spell will affect creatures you control.
  • 2018-01-19
    If your tenth permanent enters the battlefield and then a permanent leaves the battlefield immediately afterwards (most likely due to the "Legend Rule" or due to being a creature with 0 toughness), you get the city's blessing before it leaves the battlefield.
  • 2018-01-19
    If your tenth permanent enters the battlefield and then a permanent leaves the battlefield immediately afterwards (most likely due to the “Legend Rule” or due to being a creature with 0 toughness), you get the city’s blessing before it leaves the battlefield.
  • 2018-01-19
    If you control ten permanents but don’t control a permanent or resolving spell with ascend, you don’t get the city’s blessing. For example, if you control ten permanents, lose control of one, then cast Golden Demise, you won’t have the city’s blessing and the spell will affect creatures you control.
  • 2018-01-19
    If you cast a spell with ascend, you don’t get the city’s blessing until it resolves. Players may respond to that spell by trying to change whether you get the city’s blessing.
  • 2018-01-19
    A permanent is any object on the battlefield, including tokens and lands. Spells and emblems aren’t permanents.
  • 2018-01-19
    Once you have the city’s blessing, you have it for the rest of the game, even if you lose control of some or all of your permanents. The city’s blessing isn’t a permanent itself and can’t be removed by any effect.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$0.19 €0.11 0.03
$0.24