Card
Chancellor of the Annex

Creature — Angel


You may reveal this card from your opening hand. If you do, when each opponent casts his or her first spell of the game, counter that spell unless that player pays .
Flying
Whenever an opponent casts a spell, counter it unless that player pays .


  New Phyrexia (NPH)
#6, Rare

Illustrated by: Min Yum
Multiverse ID: 218083

USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil
EUR Foil

Rulings

  • 2011-06-01
    If you reveal more than one Chancellor of the Annex from your opening hand, each will trigger when an opponent casts his or her first spell of the game. That player will have to pay that many times or the spell will be countered.
  • 2011-06-01
    In a multiplayer game, if you reveal Chancellor of the Annex from your opening hand, it will trigger each time an opponent casts his or her first spell of the game.
  • 2016-06-08
    A player's "opening hand" is the hand of cards the player has after all players have taken mulligans and "scryed" if applicable. If players have any cards in hand that allow actions to be taken with them from a player's opening hand, the starting player takes all such actions first in any order, followed by each other player in turn order. Then the first turn begins.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$4.53 €4.84 1.28
$3.70