Card
Wildfire Eternal

Creature — Zombie Jackal Cleric


Afflict 4 (Whenever this creature becomes blocked, defending player loses 4 life.)
Whenever Wildfire Eternal attacks and isn't blocked, you may cast an instant or sorcery card from your hand without paying its mana cost.


  Hour of Devastation (HOU)
#109, Rare

Illustrated by: Magali Villeneuve
Multiverse ID: 430798

USD Non-foil
USD Foil
EUR Non-foil
EUR Foil

Rulings

  • 2017-06-27
    An ability that triggers when something "attacks and isn't blocked" triggers in the declare blockers step after blockers are declared if (1) that creature is attacking and (2) no creatures are declared to block it. It will trigger even if that creature was put onto the battlefield attacking rather than having been declared as an attacker in the declare attackers step.
  • 2017-06-27
    Wildfire Eternal's second ability resolves before combat damage is dealt, and you must cast a spell at that time if you wish to cast one without paying its mana cost. You can cast a sorcery during the declare blockers step this way.
  • 2017-06-27
    If the card has in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
  • 2017-06-27
    If multiple creatures block a creature with afflict, afflict triggers only once.
  • 2017-06-27
    Afflict causes the defending player to lose life; it's not damage or combat damage.
  • 2017-06-27
    If a creature is attacking a planeswalker, that planeswalker's controller is the defending player.
  • 2017-06-27
    Afflict resolves before combat damage is dealt. If this loss of life brings a player to 0 life or less, that player loses the game immediately. A blocking creature with lifelink won't deal combat damage in time to save that player.
  • 2017-06-27
    If you cast a card "without paying its mana cost," you can't pay any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Tormenting Voice, those must be paid to cast the card.
  • 2017-07-14
    Afflict resolves before combat damage is dealt. If this loss of life brings a player to 0 life or less, that player loses the game immediately. A blocking creature with lifelink won’t deal combat damage in time to save that player.
  • 2017-07-14
    If a creature is attacking a planeswalker, that planeswalker’s controller is the defending player.
  • 2017-07-14
    Afflict causes the defending player to lose life; it’s not damage or combat damage.
  • 2017-07-14
    If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Tormenting Voice, those must be paid to cast the card.
  • 2017-07-14
    Wildfire Eternal’s second ability resolves before combat damage is dealt, and you must cast a spell at that time if you wish to cast one without paying its mana cost. You can cast a sorcery during the declare blockers step this way.
  • 2017-07-14
    An ability that triggers when something “attacks and isn’t blocked” triggers in the declare blockers step after blockers are declared if (1) that creature is attacking and (2) no creatures are declared to block it. It will trigger even if that creature was put onto the battlefield attacking rather than having been declared as an attacker in the declare attackers step.