Card
The Dark Barony

Plane — Ulgrotha


Whenever a nonblack card is put into a player's graveyard from anywhere, that player loses 1 life.
Whenever you roll , each opponent discards a card.


  Planechase (HOP)
#6, Common

Illustrated by: Pete Venters
Multiverse ID: 198083

USD Non-foil

Rulings

  • 2009-10-01
    If an ability of a plane refers to "you," it's referring to whoever the plane's controller is at the time, not to the player that started the game with that plane card in his or her deck. Many abilities of plane cards affect all players, while many others affect only the planar controller, so read each ability carefully.
  • 2009-10-01
    The controller of a face-up plane card is the player designated as the "planar controller." Normally, the planar controller is whoever the active player is. However, if the current planar controller would leave the game, instead the next player in turn order that wouldn't leave the game becomes the planar controller, then the old planar controller leaves the game. The new planar controller retains that designation until he or she leaves the game or a different player becomes the active player, whichever comes first.
  • 2009-10-01
    A face-up plane card that's turned face down becomes a new object with no relation to its previous existence. In particular, it loses all counters it may have had.
  • 2009-10-01
    A plane card is treated as if its text box included "When you roll {PW}, put this card on the bottom of its owner's planar deck face down, then move the top card of your planar deck off that planar deck and turn it face up." This is called the "planeswalking ability."
  • 2009-10-01
    The Dark Barony's first ability doesn't behave like a leaves-the-battlefield triggered ability, since the card put into a graveyard may come from anywhere. If a card is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, its color is checked in the graveyard, not as it last existed on the battlefield.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$1.11
$2.50 €0.40