Card

Leonin Arbiter

Creature — Cat Cleric


Players can't search libraries. Any player may pay for that player to ignore this effect until end of turn.

"Our people are torn by infighting. Until the two sides reconcile, our laws can carry no meaning."


  Commander 2017 (C17)
#64, Rare

Illustrated by: Shelly Wan
Multiverse ID: 432996

USD Non-foil
EUR Non-foil

Rulings

  • 2011-01-01
    If there are multiple Leonin Arbiters on the battlefield, a player must pay for each one before being able to search libraries that turn.
  • 2011-01-01
    A player who has paid may search any library when instructed to do so that turn, not just his or her own library.
  • 2011-01-01
    Once a player has paid , he or she may search libraries that turn as many times as he or she is instructed to do so.
  • 2011-01-01
    If an effect says "You may search your library . . . If you do, shuffle your library," and you haven't paid , you can't choose to search, so you won't shuffle.
  • 2011-01-01
    If an effect says "Search your library . . . Then shuffle your library," and you haven't paid , the search effect fails, but you will still have to shuffle.
  • 2011-01-01
    Since players who haven't paid can't search, they won't be able to find any cards in a library. The effect applies to all players and all libraries. If a spell or ability's effect has other parts that don't depend on searching for or finding cards, they will still work normally.
  • 2011-01-01
    Effects that tell a player to reveal cards from a library or look at cards from the top of a library will still work. Only effects that use the word "search" will fail unless a player pays .
  • 2011-01-01
    Paying to ignore Leonin Arbiter's effect is a special action. Any player may take this special action any time he or she has priority. It doesn't use the stack and can't be responded to.
  • 2011-01-01
    Paying doesn't let a player pick up a library and search it — it just allows him or her to ignore Leonin Arbiter's effect that turn. That player can search a library only if another spell or ability instructs him or her to do so.
  • 2011-01-01
    If a player pays , that enables only him or her to ignore Leonin Arbiter's effect that turn. Each other player is still affected by it.
PRINTS USD EUR Tix
$2.39 €1.99
$2.43 €1.64 0.78